Don’t trust Apple with your data anymore? Want to move away from the Apple Ecosystem? Then all you have to do delete you Apple ID. If you own a Mac,iPhone, iPad you surely have Apple ID account. If you have an App Store,iTunes, or iCloud account, then you have an Apple ID. Here’s the complete guide to delete Apple ID.
A new Data and Privacy website have been launched by Apple that allows you to request a copy of all of your data associated with your Apple ID accounts that the company maintains on its servers. This webpage also has options to delete or deactivate an Apple ID.
Delete Apple ID on iPhone/Mac and iPad
Important To Note Before You Delete Your Apple ID:
Be aware that if you delete Apple ID account, any associated data loss is a permanent and almost irreversible action. Once your account is deleted, Apple can’t reopen or reactivate your account or restore any of your data, and you will no longer be able to access any of the content and services listed below :
- If you have any photos, videos, documents, and other content that you stored in iCloud, they will be permanently deleted
- You will no longer receive any messages or calls sent to your account via FaceTime,iMessage, iCloud Mail
- You can no longer sign in to or use services such as iCloud, the App Store, iTunes Store, iBooks Store, Apple Pay, iMessage, FaceTime, and Find My iPhone
- Your paid iCloud storage plans if any will be cancelled
- Any remaining Apple Store appointments and support cases are canceled, but any AppleCare plans you may have purchased remain valid
- iTunes music purchases or without Digital Rights Management will continue working normally when your account is deleted or deactivated. But any DRM-free content stored in iCloud Music Library isn’t accessible or playable.
Apple recommends temporarily deactivating your account where possible instead of deleting it if you only want to restrict your use for someone. You can reactivate your Apple IDs by contacting Apple Support and providing the unique access code received during deactivation.
Also Read: How to Reset iPhone, iPad or any iOS Device
Here are the following steps you should take before you request deletion or deactivation of your account:
- You must download all music and media, iTunes Match tracks DRM-free purchases that you already don’t have copies of
- You should back up the data that you have stored in iCloud, including content for any Apple or third-party apps that store data using iCloud
- You need to review any active subscriptions because any remaining subscriptions are cancelled at the end of their billing cycles, even during deactivation
- You must save copies of any Apple-related information that you currently need or expect to need
- You should sign out of all your devices to avoid issues with apps that use your Apple ID account or iCloud. If your account is deleted then you won’t be able to sign out of iCloud or turn off Find My iPhone Activation Lock on your devices. In case you forget to sign out there is a chance you might not be able to use your device when your account is deleted.
How to Delete Apple ID/Account
Step 1: First, you need to open a web browser on your iPad, Mac or PC and go to privacy.apple.com. The option is not available on the iPhone.
Step 2: Then enter your Apple ID email and password. You will need to answer any security questions or authorize two-factor authentication on another device if you are prompted to.
Step 3: Once you are on the Apple ID & Privacy page, just select Continue.
Step 4: When you come to Delete Your Account, click on Get Started.
Step 5: Here you will need to select a reason for deleting your account from the dropdown menu. If you have no such reason, choose “prefer not to say,” and select Continue.
Step 6: You get to review the checklist of important things to know before deleting your account. After you are done checking, select Continue.
Step 7: Thoroughly go through the deletion terms and conditions, then check off the read and agree box, and again select Continue.
Step 8: Now you have to choose how you want to receive account status updates. You will get 3 options for this: the email you used to create the Apple ID, a different email address, or by phone. Then select Continue.
Step 9: It is of primary importance that you download write down or print the unique access code given to you at this stage. You will need this to contact Apple Support regarding your request. This includes you changing your mind about deleting the account temporarily for a short period after the request is submitted. Then select Continue.
Step 10: Now submit the access code to confirm that you have received it. Then select Continue.
Step 11: Just take a good look at the list of important details once again and finally select Delete Account.
Apple will confirm it is working on deleting your account on the website and in an email. The company says the process may take up to seven days. You should know that your account will remain active while verification is in progress.
You must not forget to sign out of the Apple ID on all devices and web browsers before the account is deleted.
Apple makes it easy to get rid of your Apple ID, but if you are not careful with the process, then you might lose important data. Therefore you need to read the guidelines and terms and conditions of deletion properly. Here’s hoping this guide helped you in the process of deleting your Apple ID.